Winter Hammock systems

Home Forums General General Winter Hammock systems

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Britzen Roen 1 week ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Britzen Roen
    Participant
    Basic Member

I saw a few hammock setups/comments doing a quick search, I’m new to the hanging game, but am slowly dialing in a system.

This Winter has turned dismal and we’re down to just a few feet of snow.  Snowcaving, my winter go-to, has slim options at best. I’m so glad I picked up a hammock to try out as a 4 season backup/alternate sleep system in the backcountry. I’ve been out at least once a week now since Thanksgiving, save for last week’s snowcaving, had to take advantage of what snow is left.

Not knowing how much I’d like sleeping in a hammock, I went with a Bear Butt off Amazon, used a SilNylon tarp I made for the Pacific Crest hike years ago, cheapie foam camp pad, and hacked apart a 32F old down sleeping bag into an underquilt. I followed advice from Shuge on Youtube. Shuge tests his equipment a lot up in Northern MN, my hood, so I’m working towards a sub-zero system.

The coldest I’ve gone is 0F, so far, and added a sheet of Reflectix on top of the foam camp pad, and switched to a -20bag as a topquilt, which was OVERKILL for 0f, but that’s the bag I bring back to MN in winter time.

Tomorrow I’ll set up using my new, non hole-filled tarp, and play with adding a static ridge line, though so far, have slept soundly every night. I’m hoping it will reduce set-up time.

For the most part, the hammock gear translates to useful items for a snowcave, a win-win, and can easily be packed on a pulk or kept in the rigs for overland adventures.

Most of the gear gets used in a snowcave, bonus.

Morris Yarnell
    Participant
    Basic Member